Sustainable design shines at Queensland Architecture Awards

The winners of the Australian Institute of Architects’ Queensland State Architecture Awards have been announced at the annual awards night on Friday 14 June.

Following an extensive Regional Architecture Awards program, 62 unique projects were shortlisted for state honours, some in multiple categories.

The highlight from this year’s judging was the exceptional quality of sustainable design principles deployed across the various projects, demonstrating a strong commitment to human-centred design that is responsive to the unique and varied climates that exist across Queensland.

The QUT Creative Industries Precinct 2 by Richard Kirk Architect and HASSELL Ltd (Architects in Association) has claimed top honours in three categories – the Jennifer Taylor Award for Educational Architecture, Don Roderick Award for Heritage and GHM Addison Award for Interior Architecture.

Incorporating a new six storey building set within the state heritage listed former Gona Barracks, the precinct was praised by the jury as “a world-class example of a creative arts studies educational building”.

“Pushing the boundaries of educational architecture, the building is designed to cross-pollinate the various art disciplines with verandas flanking stacked teaching and performing studios, providing a shared experience. Corner windows to the studios provide views to these spaces, allowing a holistic engagement with dance, music and fashion, which brings the student work to the public realm.”

The Harry Marks Award for Sustainable Architecture went to 25 King by Bates Smart, which also received the Beatrice Hutton Award for Commercial Architecture.

“Cited as the tallest commercial timber building with the largest floor plate in the world, 25 King Street is a potential catalyst for positive change within the Queensland building design discourse. A restrained glazed rectilinear form of 10 levels with basement belies the importance of the structural resolution within adopting an all timber structural system, demonstrating a sustainable and viable alternative to established construction methodologies of steel and concrete.”

“This building illustrates the potential for more sustainable alternative structural systems to sit confidently within the urban context, catalysing conversations about how and with what we build,” the jury said.

The Robin Dods Award for Residential – Houses (New) was awarded to Bellbird Retreat by Steendijk along with the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture.

“This ‘off-the-grid’ retreat provides its owners the opportunity to escape and unwind from city life within a conserved rural setting. Compact in size and function this building is a highly considered and well-resolved dwelling that has improved the lives of its owners and their guests. This building is a memorable piece of architecture at the highest level.”

Queensland Chapter President, Paul Trotter congratulated winners and entrants for continuing to innovate and create projects that make a positive impact for those who work, live and play within them.

“Architecture has the unique ability to impact upon people’s lives and create a legacy for future generations, this year’s award winners can all be proud of that achievement,” Trotter said.

Projects that received a Named Award or Award are now in the running for the National Architecture Awards to be announced in November.

Full list of winners:

Commercial Architecture

Beatrice Hutton Award – 25 King, Bates Smart
Commendation – Milani Gallery, Vokes and Peters
Commendation – The Overflow, Loucas Zahos Architects
Commendation – Boundary Hotel, KP Architects

Educational Architecture

Jennifer Taylor Award – QUT Creative Industries Precinct 2, Richard Kirk Architect, Pty Ltd and
HASSELL ltd, (Architects in Association)
Award – Ormiston College – Centre for learning and Innovation, BSPN Architecture
Award – James Cook University – Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Thursday
Island, Wilson Architects and Clark and Prince Architects (Architects in Association)
Commendation – St Andrews Anglican College ‘Learning Hub’, Wilson Architects

Enduring Architecture

Robin Gibson Award – Railton House and Office, John Railton Architects


Don Roderick Award – QUT Creative Industries Precinct 2, Richard Kirk Architect Pty Ltd and HASSELL ltd, (Architects in Association)

Interior Architecture

GHM Addison Award – QUT Creative Industries Precinct 2, Richard Kirk Architect Pty Ltd and
HASSELL ltd, (Architects in Association)
Award – Aurecon 25 King Workplace, Woods Bagot
Commendation – Level 3, 143 Edward St, Brisbane, m3architecture
Commendation – Allianz Workplace, BVN

Public Architecture

FDG Stanley Award – HOTA Outdoor Stage, ARM Architects
Commendation – Caboolture GP Super Clinic, Wilson Architects
Commendation – Kawana Waters Aged Care Residence, Deicke Richards

Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions)

Elina Mottram Award – Terrarium House, John Ellway
Award – Albert Villa, Bureau^Proberts
Award – Teneriffe House, Vokes and Peters

Residential Architecture – Houses (New) 

Robin Dods Award – Bellbird Retreat, Steendijk
Award – Bramston Residence, Richard Kirk Architect, Pty Ltd
Award – Mermaid MultiHouse, Partners Hill with Hogg & Lamb
Award – Indooroopilly House, Owen Architecture and Lineburg Wang
Commendation – The Bird Cage, Tim Ditchfield Architects Pty Ltd
Commendation – Princess St House, Owen Architecture
Commendation – Spinnaker House, Sparks Architects, Pty Ltd
Commendation – Tierney Drive House, ME
Commendation – Cove House, Justin Humphrey Architect

Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing

Job & Froud Award – Walan, Bureau^Proberts
Award – Longfellow Terraces, REFRESH*DESIGN
Commendation – North Residences, Bureau^Proberts
Commendation – Student One on Wharf St, Arkhefield

Urban Design

Karl Langer Award – 900 Ann Street, Brisbane, John Wardle Architects


Award – Bellbird Retreat, Steendijk

More green updates