Australian Institute of Architects 2019 National Architecture Conference

Groundbreaking architecture leaders and boundary-testing practitioners will deliver fresh perspectives and challenge the status quo at Collective Agency, the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2019 National Architecture Conference.

The conference will feature a line-up of global architects, thinkers and designers including University of Johannesburg Director of Research, Lesley Lokko; Het Nieuwe Instituut Director of Research, Dr Marina Otero Verzier; aLL Design Director Marcos Rosello; and AD-WO co-Founding Partner Emanuel Admassu alongside his Australian born co-founder Jen Wood.

In a bold proclamation of the power of ideas, each speaker is tasked to empower and give a strength to the architecture collective.

Australian Institute of Architects National President Clare Cousins said the Collective Agency conference would focus on ways architects can transform contemporary challenges into opportunities.

“Architects have the ability to influence the built environment and make the world better,” she says.

“This national conference will inspire architects with circuit-breaking ideas and fresh perspectives from leading designers and practitioners around the world and locally.”

“This conference is deliberately different. Its international and local speakers will challenge attendees to harness their collective strength, effect change and deliver social benefits.”

South Africa-based academic architect and best-selling novellist, Prof Lesley Lokko, is known for her discussions of race, identity, African urbanism and place-making.

Spanish architect and researcher, Dr Marina Otero Verzier, has focused on emerging architectures of automated labour and how work spaces will evolve.

aLL’s Marcos Rosello – whose practice designed an Alessi spoon as well as masterplanning and regenerating cities from England’s Manchester to Chongqing in China – blends sculpture, colour and function in his designs.

Acting NSW Government Architect Olivia Hyde’s experience includes the development and launch of the pilot NSW State Design Review Panel.

Sessions include speakers discussing concepts and actions for architects on collective agency, new protocols, human connectivity, changing the conversation, regenerative and disruptive economies, de-colonising practice, advocacy and influence, and action.

Co-curator Monique Woodward says the conference is political, environmental, optimistic and fresh.

“What are the new territories for architecture, who should be given a platform and what is advocacy within a regenerative and disruptive economy?” she said. “This is about celebrating architects, thought leaders and projects that challenge the status quo.”

“We want to look at the world from new perspectives and determine what our collective agency can and will be in the future.”

In addition to the full program of speakers at the conference from June 20 to June 22 at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, delegates can attend project tours, walking tours and the opening party.

Be challenged, be inspired and be part of something bigger.

For full details, visit


Lesley Lokko – University of Johannesburg, South Africa

Marina Otero Verzier – Het Nieuwe Instituut, Netherlands

Marcos Rosello – aLL Design, United Kingdom

Emanuel Admassu and Jen Wood – AD-WO, USA

Farzin Lotfi-Jam – Farzin, USA

Momoyo Kaikima – Atelier Bow-Wow, Japan

Sol Camacho – RADDAR, Brazil

Elisapeta Heta – Jasmax, New Zealand

Jeremy McLeod – Breathe Architecture, Australia

Olivia Hyde – NSW Government Architects Office, Australia

Sarah Lynne Rees – JCBA, Australia

Dhakshayini Sooriyakumaran – Australasian Centre for Corporate Responsibility, Australia

Laura Harding – Hill Thalis, Australia

Mauro Baracco and Louise Wright – Baracco+Wright, Australia

Genevieve Murray and Joel Sherwood-Spring – Future Method, Australia

Libby Porter – RMIT University, Australia

Scott Fry – Loving Earth, Australia

Cecille Weldon – Centre for Liveability Real Estate, Australia

David Tickle – HASSELL, Australia

Ros Moriarty – Balarinji, Australia

Poppy Taylor and Mat Hinds – Taylor and Hinds Architects, Australia

Gregory Burgess – Gregory Burgess Architects, Australia

More green updates