Tasmanian Architecture Awards 2021 shortlist

The Tasmanian Architecture Awards recognise architectural excellence in categories such as public architecture, residential, commercial, urban design, and sustainability. These awards are part of a national program run by the Australian Institute of Architects.

This year there are 27 Tasmanian entries vying for awards across 10 categories. Additional prizes and awards include the Award for Enduring Architecture, which considers buildings of merit that are over 25 years old; the SWT Blythe Student Prize for projects completed by students from the University of Tasmania; the Tasmanian Emerging Architect Prize which is awarded to an up-and-coming architect; the President’s Prize which is presented to a person who has shown considerable commitment to the profession; and the inaugural Tasmanian Architecture Medal that will be presented this year for the first time and considers projects across all categories and is considered the best-of-the-best for the year.

Tasmanian Chapter President, Craig Rosevear said, “This year’s Tasmanian Architecture Awards will introduce a medal to bring it into line with the Chapter Award programs of other states, and will be awarded to the project, from any category, considered by the jury to be the best of the winning projects for the year.

“This ‘project of the year’ will be the highest honour in the Tasmanian Architecture Awards and is titled the Tasmanian Architecture Medal.”

Jury chair, James Morrison, says of the entries that, “Tasmanian architects have once again submitted an impressive and diverse range of projects to the awards program.

“Not only do the projects highlight the commitment and contribution of architects to improving our built environment, they also demonstrate the role played in Tasmania’s social and economic advancement.”

The shortlist for the 2021 Tasmanian Architecture Awards has been released, showcasing a wide range of architecture across the state, ranging from the redevelopment of a former sawmill operation on the east coast of Tasmania to a major addition to the Royal Hobart Hospital in Hobarts central CBD. The shortlisted projects are as follows:

Signalman’s Quarters1 + 2 Architecture
CoopworthFMD Architects
Spring Bay MillGilby + Brewin Architecture
Aotea HouseBritten Pace
Cascade HouseCore Collective Architects
Killora BayLara Maeseele in association with Tanner Architects
Royal Hobart Hospital RedevelopmentLyons with Terroir
Tahune Airwalk PavilionTanner Architects
Pine Flat LodgeRoom 11
Glass HouseRoom 11
Rain Curtain HouseRoom 11
Cradle Mountain Visitor CentreCumulus Studio
Stoney Rise WineCumulus Studio
Pirie Street ExtensionPreston Lane
Arthur CircusCirca Morris-Nunn Chua Architects
MOSS 25Circa Morris-Nunn Chua Architects
Floating Sauna DerbyLicht Architecture
Kurukuru RestaurantLicht Architecture

The jury is comprised of jury chair, James Morrison, Liz Walsh, Garth Ancher, Helen Norrie and Paul Wakelam.

The shortlisted projects will be visited between Monday 29 March until 31 March 2021.

Follow the projects on Facebook, at Institute of Architects Tasmanian Chapter, and Instagram, @architects_tas.

The winners in each category, along with several other awards will be announced at an awards presentation evening on 5 June 2021 in Launceston.

The Tasmanian Architecture Awards program showcases architecture that celebrates and promotes quality architecture in Tasmania and it is one of the positive ways we’re supporting our members and reaching out to the community to show them the work that is being created by architects in our state.

The 2020 awards program saw reimagined digital awards event, and this will continue into 2021. Live streams for all the Institute’s state awards will again be open to members and the public free of charge. The digital presentations will cross live to the winners, and architects, sponsors, jury members and the wider built environment community across the country are invited to tune in and enjoy the live events.

Projects recognised as Architecture Award winners in each category will progress to the National Architecture Awards to be judged against the very best architectural works in the country. Tasmanian Chapter winners are selected by independent juries and will be announced at a digital awards ceremony on 5 June 2021 via youtube.com/user/AusArchitects


More green updates