NGV Architecture Commission 2018 shortlist revealed

The NGV Architecture Commission Design Competition invites participants to activate the Grollo Equiset Garden at the NGV International garden. Design proposals are varied and imaginative; ranging from hospitality venues, performance spaces and landscape or architectural installations. For 2018, 73 entries were received and the five shortlisted teams have now been revealed. They are:

  • FMD Architects, Future Days and Nikos Papastergiadis
  • Lance van Maanen and LLawella Lewis
  • Michael Mckeon and Wesley Perrott
  • MUIR Architecture with Openwork
  • SJB

The 2018 Architectural Commission jury is comprised of:

  • Corbett Lyon – Co-founder Lyons Architecture, Visiting Professor at MSD, NGV Trustee (Chair of Jury)
  • Andrew Clark – Deputy Director, NGV (VIC)
  • Eugenia Lim – Artist, Board Member at Next Wave, Founding Editor of Assemble Papers (VIC)
  • Isabelle Toland – Director Aileen Sage Architects, Co-Curator The Pool, 2016 Venice Biennale of Architecture (NSW)
  • Stefan Preuss – Associate Victorian Government Architect, OVGA (VIC)
  • Lisa Byrne – Director McClelland Sculpture Park and Gallery


Ewan McEoin, Senior Curator Contemporary Design and Architecture said: “Architecture increasingly displays a curiosity to explore new thresholds of practice, knowledge, skills and engagement. This NGV Architecture Commission Competition creates opportunities to realise works of architecture that enable good ideas to become a reality, and through doing so, to create new ways for architecture to engage with people, crafting opportunities for broad audiences to experience firsthand the ideas of architecture as something with which they can interact, participate, examine, communicate, think and feel.”

The NGV Architecture Commission is lead by the Department of Contemporary Design and Architecture. Previous commission winners include John Wardle Architects (2015), [email protected] STUDIO Architects (2016), Retallack Thompson and Other Architects (2017).

The winner of the competition will be announced in June and the NGV Architecture Commission will open in early December 2018.

More green updates