Winners of the 2015 Think Brick Awards announced

Announced at a gala presentation at the Crown Palladium in Melbourne on Thursday 13 August, twenty-six exemplary projects from across Australia have been recognized in the 2015 Think Brick Awards, Australia’s richest design awards. Now in its ninth year, the Think Brick Awards celebrates design excellence in the use of clay brick, concrete masonry and roof tiles by Australia’s best architects and designers.

Each of this year’s winners has imaginatively and innovatively explored brick construction, concrete masonry and roof tiles, challenging preconceived ideas about the use of some of the world’s oldest and most trusted building materials. In these twenty-six projects, the versatility of these materials is showcased, from university campuses and golf clubs, to inner-city homes and kindergartens.

In 2015 the awards jury considered a record number of entries, with the twenty-six winners and finalists selected from over 300 entries. This impressive body of work was considered by an eminent jury comprising renowned architects and experts, including Jayson Blight (COX Architecture, QLD), Clare Cousins (Clare Cousins Architects, VIC), Anupama Kundoo (Anupama Kundoo, Spain/India), Cameron Bruhn (Architecture Media) and Elizabeth McIntyre (Think Brick).

Category winners receive a $10,000 cash prize, and the Grand Prix Award prize winner receives a trip for two to the 2016 Venice Biennale of Architecture.

Excellence is recognised across five categories: the Horbury Hunt Commercial Award, the Horbury Hunt Residential Award, the Kevin Borland Masonry Award, the Bruce Mackenzie Landscape Award and the Roof Tile Excellence Award.

The winners and finalists from the 2015 Think Brick Awards are:

Kevin Borland Masonry Award winner and Grand Prix winner:

Act for Kids Child and Family Centre of Excellence, Townsville (Qld) by m3architecture

Kevin Borland Masonry Award finalists:

Concrete House (WA) by Fringe Architects

Local House (Vic) by MAKE architecture

Wylde Street (NSW) by SJB Architects

Lagoon House (Tas) by Taylor and Hinds Architects

Horbury Hunt Commercial Award winners:

Dr Chau Chak Wing Building (NSW) by Gehry Partners (Design Architect) and Daryl Jackson Robin Dyke (Executive Architects)


Bunbury Catholic College – Mercy Campus (WA) by CODA Studio and Broderick Architects

Horbury Hunt Commercial Award finalists:

UWS Kingswood Campus Library (NSW) by Allen Jack+Cottier

Penleigh and Essendon Grammar Middle Girls School (Vic) by McBride Charles Ryan

Dayboro Kindergarten (Qld) by Reddog Architects

Platform Apartments, Carriageworks Way, Eveleigh by Architectus

Horbury Hunt Residential Award winner:

Hello House (Vic) by OOF! Architecture

Horbury Hunt Residential Award finalists:

McIlwrick Street Residence, Windsor (Vic) by B.E Architecture

Courtyard House (NSW) by Aileen Sage Architects

Wedge House (Vic) by Inglis Architects

Lake Wendouree House (Vic) by John Wardle Architects

Roof Tiling Excellence Award winner:

Camino House (WA) by Bosske

Roof Tiling Excellence Award finalists:

Huntingdale Golf Club (Vic) by Inarc Architects

Roseville Avenue (NSW) by Studio GA

Ballarat House (Vic) by H2O Architects

Nedlands Residence (NSW) by Roger Cuperus Design & Drafting

Bruce Mackenzie Landscape Award winner:

Langtree Mall Mildura (Vic) by Hansen Partnership

Bruce Mackenzie Landscape Award finalists:

West End Cottage (Qld) by Vokes and Peters (with Owen and Vokes and Peters)

Richmond Terrace (Vic) by Hansen Partnership

Dandenong Civic Centre (Vic) by Rush\Wright Associates

Casba (NSW) by SJB Architects + Billard Leece Partnership


More green updates