Tasmanian Architecture Awards to announce winners in public event

Announcing of the Tasmanian Architecture Awards will this year be open to the public, in the spirit of the Open House Hobart program run by the Tasmanian Chapter of the Institute of Architects, with a free ticket available to people wanting to see the announcements and presentation footage of the buildings.

With 35 projects entered in the 2019 awards program, along with the 10 projects eligible for the Triennial Prize, the awards presentation announcement event will be hosted by the Australian Institute of Architects Tasmanian president Shamus Mulcahy and MC Suzy Cooper.

The 35 projects are entered across nine categories and constitute a total of 37 individual entries that showcase the range of diverse and exemplary new architecture produced across the state. Projects are from around the state and show the true breadth of work being produced on the island.

“As usual, a high level of inventiveness is evident, with Tasmanian architects stretching lean budgets to produce spatially rich and engaging buildings,” said jury chair, Neal Mackintosh, director of JAWS Architects.

Many of these projects have a strong community focus, including the Domain Community Hub by Field Labs, Ancanthe Park amenities block by City of Hobart & McCarthy Reed Architects, the Glenorchy Health Centre by Liminal Architecture with DesignInc, Pharos at MONA by Fender Katsalidis. the Polish Pioneers Monument on the Tamar River by HONED Architecture + Design; MONA FOMA SOMA, a mobile recording booth and performance stage for MONA FOMA by students at the University of Tasmania in association with Pulp Studio and the revitalisation of the Silverdome by Philp Lighton Architects.

Awards in each category are based on a three-tier system; the highest achievement and the pinnacle is the ‘Named’ Award, followed by an Architecture Award and a Commendation. Entries across all categories of the awards provide an opportunity for the profession to showcase exemplary Tasmanian design and to publicly acclaim and promote the excellence of our architectural achievements.

The award recipients in each category, along with a number of other awards including the Enduring Architecture Award, the President’s Prize, the Triennial Prize and the SWT Blythe Student Prize, will be announced at the awards presentation evening on July 6 in Hobart. This presentation part of the event will be open to the public and will invite all in to see the incredible quality of architectural works being produced around Tasmania. This will be followed by a paid ticketed dinner downstairs. Look out for all the winners in the lift-out in the Sunday Tasmanian on July 7.

The exhibition of all the entries will be on show at the boarding deck of Brooke Street Pier until July 14. All Tasmanians are invited to take a look at the breadth of new architecture being produced in the state and vote for their favourite project in the People’s Choice either at the exhibition, or online at architecture.com.au/tasawards.

More green updates