IDEA 2018 winners revealed

The winner’s of the 2018 Interior Design Excellence Awards (IDEA) were revealed at a gala event in Sydney.

Held at the Centennial Homestead, over 500 guests gathered for the annual awards, which is Australia’s largest and most successful independent design awards program. Launched by inside magazine in 2003, IDEA celebrates the best of Australian interior and product design across 14 categories and five Special Awards.

The Overall Winner of the awards was Longrain Tokyo by Luchetti Krelle, DesignOffice took out Designer of the Year, while RITZ&GHOUGASSIAN won the Emerging Practice award. See the full list of winners below.

“The calibre of projects and objects in this year’s awards truly demonstrates outstanding design,” say Jan Henderson and Gillian Serisier, co-editors of inside.

“Each year the design bar is raised but 2018 is a red-letter year for innovation and creativity. Within each category there is a continued propensity for blurring of boundaries. In particular the hospitality, workplace, retail and residential sectors have delivered exciting interpretations of the client’s brief.”

On the jury for the 2018 IDEA awards were Christopher Boots, Director (Christopher Boots), David Flack (Flack Studio), Hamish Guthrie (Hecker Guthrie), Iain Halliday (BKH), Jan O’Connor (environa studio), Christie Petsinis (Folk Architects) and Kirsten Stanisich (Richards Stanisich).

“The breadth of design talent in our country is immeasurable with myriad design practices in demand. Many are now working overseas, with each bringing their own particular flavour of Australian style to a variety of projects,” add Henderson and Serisier.

The complete list of winners can be found below:

Four Periscopes Practice – TRIAS

Workspace Under 1000-square-metres
BresicWhitney Rosebery Practice – Chenchow Little

Workplace Over 1000-square-metres
Roche Practice – HASSELL

Residential Single
Twig house Practice – Leeton Pointon Architects + Interiors, with Allison Pye Interiors

Institutional Winner
Learning and Teaching Building Monash University Practice – John Wardle Architects

Residential Decoration
Pacific Bondi Practice – Amber Road

Residential Multi Project
Peel By Milieu Practice – DesignOffice

Ishizuka Practice – Russell & George

Object – Furniture and Lighting (Professional)
Trimless Outlets and Switches Practice – ZETR

Object – Furniture and Lighting (Rising)
Kowan Practice – Makiko Ryujin

Public Space
Willinga Park, Reception Building Practice – Cox Architecture and Sally Hieatt Interiors

dedece Melbourne Practice – CO-AP

Longrain Tokyo Practice – Luchetti Krelle

Nightingale 1 Practice – Breathe Architecture

Emerging Designer

Designer of the Year

Overall Winner
Longrain Tokyo Practice – Luchetti Krelle

Gold Medal
Sandy and Peter Geyer

Editors’ Medal
Doherty Design studio

More green updates