Good Design Awards jury revealed

Australia’s prestigious Good Design Awards has unveiled the jury of renowned international and Australian design experts who will decide the winners of the 60th annual Awards to be held on 17 May 2018 at Sydney Opera House. The awards, Australia’s oldest and only international design awards will showcase the best of Australian and international design. The deadline to enter the awards is midnight on Friday, 9 March 2018.

For the first time ever, the Good Design Awards will be presented at the Sydney Opera House, making this the biggest and most celebrated design event in Australian history.

Danish architect Jan Utzon, son of Jørn Utzon who designed the Sydney Opera House will be among special guest presenters at the Awards Ceremony in May.

The 2018 Good Design Awards Jury comprises leading international design experts including the legendary Hartmut Esslinger, founder of global design firm frog design and one of the early pioneers of industrial design at Apple. Esslinger was one of the first industrial designers to work with Apple and Steve Jobs in the early 1990s.

Esslinger joins an impressive list of design, engineering and architecture experts representing Atlassian, KPMG, Motorola, Australian Financial Review, Aurecon, Pentagram Design and HASSELL, and other industry leaders, who will spend several days evaluating and debating all entries based on three overarching design criteria including: Good Design, Design Innovation and Design Impact before deciding the winners of the 2018 Good Design Awards.

The Good Design Awards 2018 jury list includes:
· Dr. Hartmut Esslinger, Founder, frog design
· Cheryl, Vanessa and Gabrielle Manning, Co-Founders, Manning Cartell
· Stefanie Kubanek, Associate Partner, Pentagram Design
· Professor Margaret Petty, Executive Director Innovation & Entrepreneurship, University of Technology, Sydney
· Dr. Kourosh Kayvani, Managing Director, Design, Innovation and Eminence, Aurecon
· Stephen Todd, Design Editor, Australian Financial Review
· Sally Dominguez, Innovation Catalyst, Adventurous Thinking Group
· Vince Frost, CEO & Executive Creative Director, Frost* Collective
· Steve Coster, Managing Director, HASSELL
· Sally Hill, Managing Director, Wildwon
· Stephanie Pemberton, Associate Director, Design Thinking, KPMG Australia
· Bruce Claxton, Professor, Design Management, Savannah College Of Art And Design & former Head of Design, Motorola
· Georgina Safe, Fashion Writer & Editor
· Kim Hansen, CEO, Impossible
· Kasia Wydrowski, Creative Director, K&Co
· Jo Pretyman, Founder, I-Manifest
· Dr. Oya Demirbilek, Associate Professor, Industrial Design, UNSW
· Chris Vanstone, Chief Innovation Officer, The Australian Centre For Social Innovation (TACSI)
· Terri Winter, Founder And Curator, Top3 By Design
· Paul Beranger, Automotive Designer
· Cathy Veninga, CEO, The Designers Institute Of New Zealand
· Dr. Steve Winnall, Product Development Manager, Baraja
· Lindy Johnson, Founder & CEO, Lindy Johnson
· Ian Muir, Managing Director, IDM Design Labs
· Timothy Horton, Registrar, NSW Architects Registration Board
· Luciano Papi, Managing Director, Lu Papi And Associates
· Tim Riches, Group Strategy Director, Principals
· Lester Miller, Principal And Head Of Mechanical Engineering, IP Solved
· Ben Crothers, Design Educator, Atlassian

Dr. Brandon Gien, CEO, Good Design Australia said: “In our 60th year, the Good Design Awards are privileged to have a remarkable jury of thought-leaders, industry heavyweights and pioneers who are all exceptional in their respective fields. The jury will be tasked with debating what makes ‘good design’ and which projects will go on to receive the coveted Good Design Award, Good Design Award Best in Class and the prestigious Good Design Award of the Year for 2018.”

“2018 is a very important year for Australian design. It marks how far Australia as a nation and a society has come since post-war 1958 when the Industrial Design Council was first created.”

“Good Design Australia is launching a number of exciting initiatives to help position design and design-led innovation on the national agenda. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity to promote the importance of design in driving better outcomes for the future prosperity of our world.”

The Good Design Awards recognise the outstanding achievements of designers across 10 design disciplines spanning more than 30 categories: from the best new products and services on the Australian market; excellence in architectural design; digital and communication design and emerging areas of design including business model innovation, social innovation and design entrepreneurship.

As part of the 60th Anniversary year, a number of new awards and initiatives have been launched including new categories for Fashion Design and Engineering Design and new accolades to celebrate the expanding role of design in helping shape a better, safer and more prosperous world.

These include the Better World Award, Good Design Team of the Year Award and an Indigenous Designer Award, created to recognise and celebrate the important contribution that Australia’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander designers make to Australian design across the spectrum of design disciplines and practice.

The annual Good Design Awards program is one of the oldest and most prestigious international design awards in the world, promoting excellence in design and innovation since 1958. It is recognised by the World Design Organization (WDO) as Australia’s peak international design endorsement program. The Good Design Award accolade, more commonly known as the Good Design Tick, is among the most respected and recognised international design endorsement symbols in the industry.

Alongside the awards, and celebrating enduring quality design over the past 60 years, is an unprecedented three-day Good Design Showcase Exhibition at the Overseas Passenger Terminal, Circular Quay in Sydney from Friday 25 to Sunday 27 May 2018. Forming part of Vivid Sydney, the world’s biggest festival of light, music and ideas, this free to the public exhibition will bring together more than 300 award-winning and game-changing designs from 1958 to now.

Entries for the 2018 Good Design Awards close at midnight, Friday 9 March 2018. Information on the awards is available and submissions are invited via Good Design Australia’s website:

More green updates