ArchiTeam Awards 2019 finalists

ArchiTeam Cooperative’s Annual Awards program will showcase the very best in architecture from Australia’s small, medium and emerging architects. With over 140 entries this year, ArchiTeam has made some changes recently to how this awards fortnight will exhibit all entries. Collaborating with partner Big Plans Melbourne, this year’s exhibition will be projected around their warehouse space in North Melbourne, with each finalist having their entry’s floorplan projected at 1:1 scale on the floor as their project images are beamed around the room. It will make for a spectacular opening night on Wednesday 13 November.

In 2019, ArchiTeam committed their support to the Architects Declare campaign, declaring a climate emergency. As part of the cooperative’s actions to reduce their carbon footprint, this year sees the demise of foam core awards boards (the once popular foam-filled presentation boards that many in the industry have used sinceuUniversity days), due to concerns of the amount of boards sent straight to landfill.

Out of the 140 entries, 24 were selected as finalists in the six categories. Recently-added sponsored awards, Brickworks Materiality Award and the Emerging Architect award sponsored by Vectorworks will also be announced on the opening night, along with the Sustainability Medal, Small Project Medal and grand prize – The ArchiTeam Medal.

The Residential New Award sponsored by Australian Window Systems (AWS) sees eight finalists in the running for the prize, as well as a the AWS photography package valued at $2500.

The Commercial Award, sponsored by The Built Environment Channel (BEC) who are providing an additional prize of a Serif 2019 43″ QLED 4K HDR Smart TV, has three finalists.

This year sees the most finalists in the Residential Alterations and Additions award in the history of the ArchiTeam Awards, with a total of 21 finalists. The Unbuilt Award has three finalists who vary from a multi-residential complex to an ingenious table design.

In a category that aims to celebrate architecture that helps shape neighbourhoods and support our communities, the three finalists in the Community Award category highlight the variety of projects that aim to provide a positive impact.

With two finalists, this year the Contribution Award (sponsored by Melbourne School of Design) category, recognises contribution and/or innovation to architecture beyond the design and production of buildings.

The winners will be announced at the Awards Exhibition Opening Night – 7pm Wednesday 13 November.


RESIDENTIAL NEW AWARD (Sponsored by Architectural Window Systems)

Finalist/short list
· Blade House, Takt Studio
· Bundeena Beach House, Grove Architects
· Clifton Hill Terraces, Field Office Architecture
· CLT, EM Architects
· Elemental House, Ben Callery Architects
· House at Otago Bay, Topology
· Leongatha Shed, Wolveridge Architects
· Springhill House, Lovell Burton

COMMERCIAL AWARD (Sponsored by the Built Environment Channel)

Finalist/short list
· Carman’s HQ, Ewert Leaf
· Future Future, Olaver Architecture
· The Drawing Room, Takt Studio


Finalist/short list
· Kalora Park Sports Club, WOWOWA Architecture
· Smith’s Beach Surf Life Saving Tower, MRTN Architects
· Western Desert Clinics, Kaunitz Yeung Architecture


Finalist/short list
· Attic House, Madeleine Blanchfield Architects
· Brunswick House, Winwood McKenzie Architecture
· Cable House, Tom Robertson Architects
· Charles Street, Lande Architects Pty Ltd
· Clad Pad, Mihaly Slocombe Architects
· Cloud Cottage, Takt Studio
· East Malvern House Reduction, Rosstang Architects
· Existenzminimum, WHD+A
· Fitzroy Terrace House, Taylor Knights
· House 1602, Olaver Architecture
· House in the Woods, Warc Studio
· House in Yarraville, Circle Studio Architects
· House N, Joyce Architects
· Interact, Warc Studio
· Lilyfield House, studio203
· Limerick House, Solomon Troup
· Mason House, Bryant Alsop Architects
· New Modern, Bower Architecture and Interiors
· Residence AD&H, Open Studio Pty Ltd
· Torquay Compartment Apartment, Winter Architecture
· Wedged, Alison Dodds Architect


Finalist/short list
· drop leaf table, tsai Design
· Förföra, Tessellate a+d
· Nightingale WOW, WOWOWA Architecture

CONTRIBUTION AWARD (Sponsored by Melbourne School of Design)

Finalist/short list
· Architecture and Alterity, Anthony Clarke
· EBD Journal by EBD Architects

More green updates