2024 International Chapter Architecture Awards – Winners Revealed in Hobart

The best new residential and commercial buildings located across the globe designed by Australian architects have been named in the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2024 International Chapter Architecture Awards, shining a light on the most innovative, sustainable and inspirational homes, commercial and community buildings. This year’s winners can be seen as a window into the changing built environment of contemporary situations around the world.

In particular, the Awards showcase the exemplary work that is being done internationally, highlighting respectful and sustainable approaches to alterations of existing public buildings; and new designs that, despite being located on the other side of the world, show the depth of connection, appreciation and consideration to what makes Australia special, while also incorporating elements of Australia’s Indigenous design culture.

The seven winners and commendations were chosen by a jury of industry experts from a field of more than nine of Australia’s leading architectural practices who are completing projects overseas.

With world class design examples of sustainability, adaptive reuse, and a dynamic collaboration between designers, the projects featured tell stories – both of the country where they are located, and also of their connection to Australia.

“The awards programme offers the opportunity to explore the world through the eyes and talents of our members  practicing across the globe – I have been astounded to witness the exquisite architectural responses and the many stories that have emerged from the variety of projects in our awards programme this year,” explained Jury Chair, Samantha Cotterell FRAIA.

The projects entered in this year’s awards are located in countries as far away as Denmark, Sweden, Hungary and the USA, and as close as Papua New Guinea, Indonesia and China. 

“Awarding the International Chapter prizes can be challenging because the contexts of the projects are so diverse, but what becomes evident in this exercise is the value of architecture – how it uplifts, resolves and challenges, how it refines, defines and redefines, how it contributes to the development of current thinking in life  as much as in the built environment,” said Cotterell.

This year, the jury have awarded the inaugural Louise Cox Award for Public Architecture.

“It is our great pleasure and honour this year, to award the first edition of the Louise Cox Award. This award honours outstanding public architecture and is named after our colleague, dear friend, and eminent Australian architect Louise Cox,” said Cotterell.

The 2024 International Chapter Architecture Awards program attracted nine entrants. A comprehensive judging process determined the eventual winners, with all entrants presenting their projects to the jury after submitting their entry.


2024 Jury


Each year, the International Chapter Architecture Awards jury includes a venerated panel of industry experts. This  year the jury comprised of: 

  • Samantha Cotterell FRAIA, jury chair
  • Tim Bradley RAIA, Kerry Hill Architects
  • Kate McMahon RAIA, McMahon and Nerlich
  • Peter Kirkness RAIA
  • Antonia Syme AM


2024 Winners


Commercial Architecture

  • Award for Commercial Architecture — The Embassy of Australia, Washington D.C. | Bates Smart 


Interior Architecture

  • Award for Interior Architecture — The Embassy of Australia, Washington D.C. | Bates Smart


Public Architecture

  • Louise Cox Award for Public Architecture — The Embassy of Australia, Washington D.C. | Bates Smart 
  • Award for Public Architecture — Acticity Centre for Dance and Movement-based Arts | Gall and Associates – Gall és Társai Építésziroda 
  • Commendation for Public Architecture — Kimbe Market Redevelopment | PAWA Architecture | West New Britain has seven major tribes, the Nakanai, Bakovi, Kove, Unea, Maleu, Kaulong and Arowe 


Residential Architecture – Houses (New)

  • Commendation for Residential Architecture – Houses (New) — Långhus | RAAarchitects Pty Ltd


Small Project Architecture

  • Commendation for Small Project Architecture — Plastic Pavilion | TERROIR


William J Mitchell Prize

  • Mark Burry AO


The Australian Institute of Architects’ 2024 International Chapter Architecture Awards will be revealed on Saturday 29 June, at an event held for the first time in Hobart, Tasmania. This event is a joint event with the Institute’s Tasmanian Architecture Awards and 2024 Australasian Student Architecture Congress ‘Ground Matters’ closing party, held at Mac 02. 

More information: architecture.com.au

More green updates