Australian Furniture Design Award 2020 launch

CityLab has announced the launch of the Australian Furniture Design Award 2020. CityLab is the Competition Advisor for the Design Competition presented by NGV and Stylecraft. In response to the Melbourne Design Week theme ‘How does design shape life?’ the 2020 Australian Furniture Design Award, while acknowledging the importance of functionality and aesthetics, seeks to explore the broader implications and opportunities of furniture design.

The Competition is an EOI followed by a single stage design competition. The winning designer will receive a $20 000 cash prize, invitation from Stylecraft to develop a design through to commercial production for distribution and a two-week residency program at JamFactory in Adelaide to experiment with new ideas and materials, prototype new work or explore new making processes.

Brian Parkes CEO Jamfactory
Helen Kontouris Designer & Creative Director LEN
Simone LeAmon Curator NGV
Tom Owens Managing Director & Principal Gensler
Tony Russell Brand Director Stylecraft


Stage One
Stage One Open 8 October 2019
Registration Period 8 October – 15 November 2019
Question Period 8 October – 15 November 2019
Stage One Close 22 November 2019 (5:00 pm AEST)

Stage Two
Stage Two Open 9 December 2019
Question Period 9 December 2019 – 17 January 2020
Stage Two Close 20 February 2020 (5:00 pm AEST)
Stage Two Evaluation 20 March 2020

Register to enter the 2020 Australian Furniture Design Award here

More green updates