Awards honour the social and cultural benefits of architecture

The diversity of projects being undertaken by architects in South Australia, who are responding to the challenges of today and needs of tomorrow, were honoured last night at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2016 SA Architecture Awards.

Four projects from the Tonsley redevelopment have collected seven Awards across education, heritage, commercial, sustainability and urban design, cementing the project as a ‘unique place with a strong identity for South Australia to celebrate its manufacturing history’.

The role of architects Woods Bagot and Tridente in deciding to retain the Main Assembly Building (MAB) structure and surrounding building pods along with vibrant urban spaces designed by Oxigen, ‘is testament to both the vision of the client, the skills and collaboration of the designers and the urban design guidelines developed for the site,’ the jury said.

South Australia’s Drill Core Reference Library by Thomson Rossi provides an important gateway to the huge 61-hectare Tonsley site, which is currently transforming into an education, research and business hub. HASSELL’s Flinders University building further defines the former MAB along with the TAFE campus to the south.

Public architecture was dominated by projects that provide significant social and cultural benefits to our communities with the integration of public spaces becoming integral to the design process.

The coveted Jack McConnell Award for Public Architecture, was awarded to the Stretton Centre by HASSELL, which the jury praised as ‘an architecturally accomplished focal point for the wider northern suburbs community’.

Continuing the accolades for projects in the public realm, commendations were awarded to Henley Square Remade by TCL with Troppo Architects, Glenunga Community Hub by Greenway Architects and the Zoos SA Nature’s Play Ground by Phillips/Pilkington Architects and WAX Design, which also won the community’s vote for the City of Adelaide Prize People’s Choice Award.

The new technology incubator, Base 64 in Kent Town was designed by Williams Burton Leopardi within a heritage building, and has been honoured with both the Keith Neighbour Award for Commercial Architecture and David Saunders Award for Heritage.

‘Base 64 has a unique quality that is difficult to define — part co-working, domestic, gallery, retreat and public space. It provides clues as to how contemporary workplaces might evolve to be more collaborative, networked, and personal,’ the jury said.

The latest in residential design incorporates clean, modern design, ample natural light, access to outdoor spaces and solid environmental approaches, with five accolades given in the New Houses category.

Veil and Mortar by Khab Architects, ‘a playful and dramatic addition to a symmetrical cottage’, was awarded the top honour for Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions), the John Schenk Award. The Jury was impressed with all entries in the category this year, showcasing the value architects bring when responding to the needs of their client in adapting an existing home.

The Small Project category celebrates areas of design that may be traditionally overlooked, pavilions and shelters, to public toilets. A 10-square-metre home study addition by Grieve Gillett Anderson received the top Marjorie Simpson Award for Small Project Architecture by the jury, who said the project ‘embodies a real joy in architectural outcomes and contributes to a broader approach to residential design’.

As the profession currently speculates the future of architecture. The Jack Cheesman Award for Enduring Architecture recognises a significant building over 25 years. This year the South Australian Forensic Science Centre by the SA Public Buildings Department, has been honoured as a distinguished example of late Australian brutalism.

Full list of winners:

Public Architecture

Jack McConnell Award – Stretton Centre by HASSELL

Commendation – Glenunga Hub by Greenway Architects

Educational Architecture

Dr John Mayfield Award – Flinders at Tonsley by HASSELL

Commendation – Cardijn College Music Centre by Tridente Architects

Residential Architecture – Houses (New)

The John S Chappel Award – West End Residence by Ashley Halliday Architects

Award – Tusmore Residence by Grieve Gillett Andersen

Award – Grass Trees by Max Pritchard Gunner Architects

Commendation – Friedrichstrasse House by Troppo Architects

Commendation – Waitpinga Retreat by Mountford Williamson Architecture

Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations & Additions)

The John Schenk Award – Veil and Mortar by KHAB Architects

Award – Fade to Grey by Grieve Gillett Andersen

Commendation – LOCH by John Adam Architect

Commendation – Cawley Tree House by C4 Architects

Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing

Commendation – Gibson & 7th by Williams Burton Leopardi

Commercial Architecture

Keith Neighbour Award – Base 64 by Williams Burton Leopardi

Award – South Australian Drill Core Reference Library by Thomson Rossi

Commendation – Beresford Wines Cellar Door & Tasting Pavilion by Alexander Brown Architects


David Saunders Award – Base 64 by Williams Burton Leopardi

Award – Tonsley Main Assembly Building and Pods by Woods Bagot and Tridente Architects

Commendation – Torrens Island Quarantine Station by Habitable Places

Commendation – Saint Francis Xavier Cathedral Pipe Organ Project by Grieve Gillett Andersen

Interior Architecture

Robert Dickson Award – Oggi by studio-gram

Award – UniSA Student Lounge by Phillips / Pilkington Architects

Award – Centre for Senior Learning, Pulteney Grammar School by Walter Brooke & Associates

Commendation – Elders Head Office by JPE Design Studio

Urban Design

Commendation – Riverbank Bridge by Tonkin Zulaikha Greer, Taylor Cullity Lethlan and Aurecon

Commendation – Tonsley by Oxigen

Commendation – Henley Square Remade by T.C.L with Troppo Architects

Small Project Architecture

Marjorie Simpson Award – House on Mayfair by Grieve Gillett Anderson

Award – 4 Structures at Henley Square by Troppo Architects and T.C.L

Commendation – Waterfall Gully Shelter and Toilet Block by Flightpath Architects

Sustainable Architecture

Award – Tonsley Main Assembly Building and Pods by Woods Bagot and Tridente Architects

Award – Tonsley by Oxigen

Enduring Architecture

Jack Cheesman Award – South Australian Forensic Science Centre by SA Public Buildings Department, Government of South Australia

Colorbond® Award for Steel Architecture

Award – South Australian Drill Core Reference Library by Thomson Rossi

The City of Adelaide Prize

Prize Winner – Pink Moon Saloon by Sans-Arc Studio

Commendation – Zoos SA Nature’s Play Ground by Phillips/Pilkington Architects and WAX Design

More green updates